CHÂTEAU MARGAUX

CHÂTEAU MARGAUX

MARGAUX
1er Cru Classé
Propriétaire :
Corinne Mentzelopoulos (Propriétaire et PDG)
Site web
Célèbre pour sa finesse et sa suavité, Château Margaux est un vin de grande garde, au passé prestigieux, qui figure au tout premier rang des vins de Bordeaux. Classé Premier Cru en 1855, Château Margaux appartient aujourd'hui à Corinne Mentzelopoulos.
CHÂTEAU MARGAUX

Dès le XVIIIème siècle, la qualité du vin est reconnue. Thomas Jefferson, Ambassadeur en France avant de devenir le troisième Président des Etats-Unis et grand connaisseur de vins, le plaçait parmi les tout premiers vins de Bordeaux. Le château et les bâtiments environnants que l'on peut admirer aujourd'hui datent de 1810. Souvent appelé le "Versailles du Médoc", le château est un exemple rare du style neo-Palladien français et fut déclaré officiellement Monument Historique en 1946. C'est tout naturellement que Château Margaux a été classé Premier Cru en 1855.
Les propriétaires qui se sont succédés à la tête de cette illustre propriété se sont tous efforcés de maintenir sa réputation avec succés. Mais il en est un qui mérite un hommage tout particulier : André Mentzelopoulos, qui rachète le château en 1977 et se lance dans d'importants travaux dans le vignoble et dans le chai. Malheureusement il décède trop vite pour profiter de la renaissance du château Margaux qu'il avait instiguée. A sa mort, en 1980, sa fille Corinne reprend le flambeau en parachevant la restauration du vignoble et la construction du chai souterrain. En 1983, Paul Pontallier, ingénieur agronome et docteur en œnologie, rejoint l’équipe de Margaux. Avec Corinne Mentzelopoulos, ils ont été les architectes des brillantes performances du domaine durant les 33 dernières années jusqu'au décès de Paul Pontallier en Mars 2016.

La valeur de Château Margaux provient largement d'un terroir exceptionnel, composé sur 80 ha d'une succession de croupes graveleuses et argilo-graveleuses, qui bénéficient d'un excellent drainage artificiel et naturel (ruisseau du Lestonnat).
Le Cabernet Sauvignon s'épanouit sur les nombreuses parcelles de vigne qui composent le vignoble de Margaux. L'encépagement en comprend une proportion fort élevée (75%) pour cette appellation, ainsi que 20% Merlot, 5% Cabernet Franc et de Petit Verdot.
Lors du processus de sélection, les meilleures cuves sont identifiées et réservées au Château Margaux. Le reste est alloué au second vin, Pavillon Rouge du Château Margaux, qui existe depuis 1908. Château Margaux est élevé à 100% en fûts de chêne neufs, comme c'est le cas pour tous les Premiers Crus Classés de Bordeaux. L'élevage se réalise en général sur deux ans. En moyenne, ce sont 130 000 bouteilles de Château Margaux et 130 000 bouteilles de Pavillon Rouge qui sont produites chaque année, ainsi que 15 000 bouteilles du Pavillon Blanc du Château Margaux, un superbe vin blanc sec au bouquet subtile et singulier. Pavillon Blanc est issu de 12 hectares de vignes, 100% Sauvignon Blanc.

Château Margaux est un vin de grande garde. Le vin de Margaux allie la finesse et la concentration, un bouquet complexe avec une remarquable intensité gustative.

"Mon idée du bonheur ? Château Margaux 1848". Friedrich Engels.

CHÂTEAU MARGAUX

CHÂTEAU MARGAUX

MARGAUX
1er Cru Classé
Owner:
Corinne Mentzelopoulos (Owner and CEO)
Website
Celebrated for its finesse and suavity, Château Margaux is an age-worthy wine with a prestigious past, occupying today a front-rank place in the Bordeaux hierarchy of fine wines. Classified as a first growth in 1855, Château Margaux belongs today to Corinne Mentzelopoulos.
CHÂTEAU MARGAUX

The quality of the wine has been recognized since the 18th century. Thomas Jefferson, Ambassador to France before becoming the third President of the United States of America, placed it among the first rank wines of Bordeaux. The château and surrounding buildings that one can admire today date back to 1810. Often referred to as the "Versailles of the Médoc", the château is a rare example of the neo-Palladian style in France and was declared an official historical monument in 1946. Quite logically, Château Margaux was classified as a first growth in 1855.
The owners who have succeeded one another at this illustrious property have always endeavoured to maintain its reputation, but particular homage must be paid to André Mentzelopoulos who bought it in 1977 and immediately launched important improvements in the vineyard and in the wine-making facilities. The new owner passed away in 1980, too soon to fully profit from the renaissance of Château Margaux which he instigated. His daughter Corinne carried on his work and finished the restoration and additions, including an underground second year wine cellar. In 1983, Paul Pontallier, agronomical engineer and oenologist with a PhD, joined the team at Margaux and has played an important role alongside Corinne Mentzelopoulos to produce a long series of exceptional vintages at the château over the last 33 years until he passed away in March 2016.

Château Margaux derives a great part of its prestige from its exceptional site, or terroir if you will, spread out over 80 hectares or some 200 acres, comprised of gravel mounds and gravelly marl soils that benefit from excellent drainage both man-made and natural (the Lestonnat stream).
The Cabernet Sauvignon grape thrives on multiple plots of vines that make up the Margaux vineyard. The grape mix used here includes an unusually high proportion of Cabernet Sauvignon for the Margaux appellation, upwards of 75%. The other grape varieties are Merlot (20%), as well as Petit Verdot and Cabernet Franc for the remaining 5%.
During the selection process, the best vats are identified for the main Château Margaux wine, with the remaining ones going to the second wine, Pavillon Rouge du Château Margaux, which has existed since 1908. The principal wine is aged in 100% new oak barrels, as is the case for all the first growths of Bordeaux. The barrel-aging lasts in general two years. On average, some 130,000 bottles of Château Margaux and 130,000 bottles of Pavillon Rouge are produced every year, as well as 15,000 bottles of a delicious dry white wine reputed for its distinctive but subtle bouquet. This Pavillon Blanc du Château Margaux is sourced from 12 hectares (30 acres) of white grapevines, 100% Sauvignon Blanc.

Famed for its finesse and smoothness, Château Margaux has great ageing potential. The red wine of Château Margaux is known for a combination of finesse and concentration, a complex bouquet on the nose and an intense flavour on the palate.

"My idea of happiness? Château Margaux 1848" - Friedrich Engels